LITTLE ROCK — Gov. Asa Hutchinson and the Arkansas Department of Education announced the 17 winning teams from the All-Region Coding Competition that took place on March 14 at 15 regional contests around the state. 

The 17 selected teams will receive an invitation to participate in the Third Annual All-State Coding Competition, which will take place at the University of Arkansas in Fayetteville on May 18. Each member of the first-place team will receive a $2,000 award that will be deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan. Each member of the second-place team will receive a $1,000 award deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan, with each member of the third-place team receiving a $500 award deposited into a 529 College Savings Plan. In addition, the schools that register/sponsor the first-place, second-place and third-place teams will receive $10,000, $6,000, and $4,000, respectively, to support their computer science programs. The prizes and competition expenses are provided by a Verizon grant to ARCodeKids. 

“Congratulations to the 17 teams heading to Fayetteville in May to compete in the Third Annual Governor’s All-State Coding Competition!” Hutchinson said. “Each year since I partnered with the Arkansas Department of Education to announce the first All-Region and All-State Coding Competitions, Arkansas students have risen to meet the challenge. I am proud of the creativity and innovation that our students showcase year after year in this competition, and I am confident that the teams this year will be no exception.

The following teams have been selected to advance to the All-State Coding Competition.

  • Arkansas School for Mathematics, Sciences, and the Arts - William Shaver, Karsen Beck, and Noah Raby
  • Cabot High School - Cody Billingsley, Ethan Peck, and Stanley Van
  • Conway High School - Archer Murray, Hunter Fleming, and Jonathon Hopkins
  • Don Tyson School of Innovation - James Cassady, Benjamin Easterling, and Abigail Herrera
  • Fayetteville High School - Jan Bobda Tagne, Andrew Ritter, and Lucas Faupel
  • Gentry High School Conversion Charter - Matthew Anderson, Jonathan Brinkley, and Carson Stell
  • Greenwood High School - Ryan Stracener, William Hutchinson, and Shea Brown
  • Haas Hall Academy - Rogers - Lucas Jaggernauth, Bradley Baltz, and Austin Parker
  • Haas Hall Academy - Fayetteville - Daniel Whitmire, Julian Sanker, and Owen Bell
  • Horatio High School - Hannah Norman, Duncan Connor, and Jacob Brecheisn
  • Little Rock Central High School - Zhaoying Li, Hetvi Shah, and Anne Li
  • Rogers Heritage High School - Allyson Hayes, Luis Guerra, and Adam Siwiec
  • Rogers High School - Garrett Chrisman, Brady Self, and Jack Norris
  • Rogers New Technology High School - David Daniel and Westley Taylor
  • Russellville High School - Michael O'Connor, Michael Draughon, and Xin Zhang
  • Spring Hill High School - Muhammad Athallah, Nick Yates, and Shay Stout
  • Valley View High School - Luke Wilson, Isaac La Ferney, and Alex Hoffman

"ADE extends congratulations to the advancing team members, sponsors, and schools," said Anthony Owen, state director of Computer Science Education. "In addition, all 15 hosting locations are to be commended for the work of their staff in making the regional events successful and fun for students." 

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.