Early voting for the Nov. 3, 2020 General Election will begin on Monday, Oct. 19 at the De Queen Community Building at Herman Dierks Park (506 E Haes). Hours will be 8 a.m. to 6 p.m., Monday through Friday; and Saturdays from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m. Early voting will end at 5 p.m. on Nov. 2.

If voting by mail, contact the county clerk’s office to request a ballot with the deadline being Oct. 27. Absentee ballot can be obtained by calling the clerk’s office at 870-642-2852 and voters can use covid-19 as an excuse. 

County residents will vote to approve the sale of liquor in the county while Gillham residents will vote on a 1 percent sales tax proposal within the Gillham city limits.

The county local option question (wet/dry), asks voters to vote for or against the question by placing an appropriate mark: 

•  For the manufacture or sale of intoxication liquors

• Against the manufacture or sale of intoxication liquors

In Gillham, voters will choose either for the adoption of a 1 percent local sales and use tax within the city of Gillham, or against adoption of a 1 percent local sales and use tax within the city of Gillham.

There will also be council elections in De Queen, Horatio, Lockesburg and Ben Lomond. 

In the De Queen city council race,  incumbent Alderman Teresa Bunyard (Ward 2 Position 1) is facing challenger Lee Ann Pitchford.All other De Queen Council seats Ward 1 Position 1 — Kathy Richards; Ward 1 Position 2 — Jeffrey Alan Holcombe; Ward 2 Position 2 — Jason Lofton; Ward 3 Position 1 — Rick Pruitt; and Ward 3 Position 2 —Troy Cravens, are unopposed. 

In Lockesburg, Alderman Alexandra ‘Sandy” Webb, who was recently appointed to her council seat, will campaign unopposed for the Ward 1 Position 1 seat. Rebecca Jegstrup is running unopposed for the city’s clerk/treasurer seat.

In the Gillham city council race, all seats are unopposed and include Position 2 — Barbara Smith; Position 3 —Jayne Cole; Position 4 — Judy Carolyn Smith; and Position 5 — Shana D Newberry.

Those running for alderman in Horatio are also unopposed: Ward 1 Position 1 — Desiree Barringer: Ward 2 Position 1 — John L. Payne: Ward 2 Position 2 — Borden Neel; Ward 3 Position 2 — Hollis DeVasier; and clerk/treasurer Horatio Debbie Neel.

Ben Lomond alderman seats are also unopposed: Position 1 — George Lanier; Position 2 — William Hatridge; Position 3 — Debbie Sue Jaquess; Position 4 — Katherine Gail McKellar; Position 5 — Scott Pearson

Voting sites are open on Election Day, Tuesday, Nov. 3, from 7:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. Sites include the De Queen Community Center as well as the following locations: Ben Lomond Community Building, 448 Wilson Creek Road, Ben Lomond; Lockesburg Methodist Church, 114 Valley Dr, Lockesburg; J.L. Walker Fellowship Hall, 602 Hazard Street, Horatio; De Queen Church of Christ, 1301 W Collin Raye Drive, De Queen; De Queen-Mena Educational Conference Center, 305 S Hornberg, Gillham.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.