Awards for the 2018-19 school year were presented at the annual end of the year De Queen sports banquet.


Boys Soccer 

All State: Kevin Villeda, Edward Garcia, Geovany Salgado

All Conference: Jose Martinez, Alejandro Lerma, Sebastian Bahena, Diego Hernandez, Gilberto Delgado, Jampiere Flores, Adolpho Ortiz 

Most Improved: Stevie Rodriguez 

Most Goals: Alejandro Lerma

Most Valuable Player: Edward Garcia 


Girls soccer

AII State: Sara Victoriana, Jooana Guerrero, Miryana Rafael

AII Conference: Abbygail Ponce, Kenya Martinez, Yasmelin Gonzalez, Cristal Cuadra, Dennise Tellez, Yatzari Dominguez

Outstanding Defender: Abbygail Ponce

Outstanding Midfielder: Jooana Guerrero

Lady Leopard MVP: Sara Victoriano

Most Goals: Sara Victoriano

Lady Leopard Pride Award: Daniela Salazar

12th Woman Award: Natalie Martinez    

Most Improved: Catherine Ousse


Boys track and field

2019 Sr.High 

Boys Track Awards

AII State: Malik Beasley, Hector Hernandez,  Kevin Villeda, Anthony Sanchez, Miguel Diaz

All Conference: Hector Hernandez, Mack Carver, Dailey Nickerson, Asael Sanchez, Alejandro Lerma, Kevin Villeda, Malik Beasley, Richard Angeles, Miguel Diaz, Alex Ramirez

Outstanding Sprinter: Alex Ramirez

Leopard Pride Award: Hector Hernandez 

Outstanding Distance: Hector Hernandez

Outstanding Field Event: Malik Beasley

Mr. Versatility: Dailey Nickerson

Outstanding Newcomer: Miguel Diaz

Most Improved: Giovanny Felipe, Davin Burgess


Girls track and field

All Conference: Jera Cotten, Josilyn Sanchez, Ashlyn Chambers, Ashley Dykes, Sidney Casteel, Pamela Delgado, Maddie Martin, Emma Vance, Heidy Galvan, Elise Dean, Abigail Barker, Josie Burke, Kimberly Delgado  

All State: Ashley Dykes, Sidney Casteel, Ashlyn Chambers, Josilyn Sanchez, Josie Burke

Hardest Worker: Ashlyn Chambers, Ashley Dykes 

Senior Dedication Award: Chasity Franco, Kaitlyn Floyd, Haley Manasco

Team First: Dania Castillo  

Distance Runner of the year: Heidy Galvan

Sprinter/Hurdler of the Year: Josie Burke

Lady Leopard Track Athlete of the year: Ashley Dykes

Most Improved: Maddie Martin, Xochitl Florez

Appreciation for hard work and dedication to team: Alicia Salazar, Crystal Alarcon, Jazmin Sanchez, Jennifer Lagunas, Patricia Ramirez



Iron Leopard Award: Will Athey

Newcomer of the Year: Devin Boyles, Xander Worthey 

Most Improved Leopard: Gage Woods

Most Quality At Bats: Quinshaun Bennett-Hale

Defensive Player of the Year: Brennan Seymour

Pitcher of the Year: Mack Carver

Offensive Player of the Year: Benjamin Socash, Mack Carver

Leopard Pride Award: Brennan Seymour

Leopard Baseball Academic Excellence:

Gage Woods, Daniel Saldivar, Brock Patterson, Jafet Sotelo, Nathaniel Socash, Brennan Seymour, Brently Morris, Xander Worthey

AII Conference: Mack Carver, Brennan Seymour, Quinshaun Bennett-Hale, Benjamin Socash

All State: Mack Carver



Batting average: Lexy Taylor .456

Doubles: Lexy Taylor, Madison Runnels 6

Walks: Tatyana Tramble 18

Home runs: Lexy Taylor, Tatyana Tramble 6

On base percentage: Tatyana Tramble .571

Stolen base: Tatyana Tramble 14

Most wins: Lexy Taylor

Strikeouts: Lexy Taylor

ERA: Lexy Taylor

Unsung hero: Kynedi France

All Conference: Bailey Ward, Kinlee Runnels, Lexy Taylor, Madison Runnels, Tatyana Tramble, Sydney Hill

All State: Lexy Taylor, Tatyana Tramble 

All state tournament: Lexy Taylor


Girls Basketball

All Conference: Maddie Martin, Tatyana Tramble, Abby Dykes, Abby Ponce, Kennedy Winship, Josie Burke

All State: Ashley Dykes, Ashlyn Chambers

All State Tournament: Josie Burke


Boys Basketball

All Conference: Weston Harp, Davin Burgess

Defensive Player of Year: Hayden Harp

Offensive Player of Year: Weston Harp

Overall Team MVP: Davin Burgess

Sixth Man: Logan Williamson

Most Improved: Kaison Gaylord, Will Athey

Leopard Pride: Kade Martin



All State, Most Valuable Player: Malik Beasley

All Conference, Offensive MVP: Mack Carver

All Conference, Offensive MVP: Marquez Ester

All Conference, Defensive MVP: Kade Martin

Special Teams MVP: Edward Garcia

Most Improved: Quinshaun Bennett-Hale

Leopard Pride: Alexis Luna

Iron Leopard: Colby Cowley


Trap Shooting

Marksman of the year: Dennis Peppers

Most Improved: Kaydee Cowling

Rookie of the Year: Jesse Power

Team first: Brent Carver

25/25 award: Ruby Peppers



All Conference: Jared Hickson

All Conference: Lauren Graham

Female golfer of year: Lauren Graham 



All American Cheerleaders: Hailey Gentry, Catherine Ousse, Skye Nickerson


Girls Tennis

All State: Alicia Salazar

Conference singles champion: Alicia Salazar

Most Improved: Anna Stinnett

Leopard Pride: Jennifer Lagunas

Honorable mention all conference: Kimberly Figueroa, Anna Stinnett


Boys Tennis

All State: Ian Garcia

All Conference: Jarel Gonzalez

Conference singles runner-up: Ian Garcia

Most Improved: Ian Garcia

Leopard Pride: Jose Romero



Boys Archer of Year: Shaylon Loyd

Girls Archer of Year: Amber Morris

Boys Most Improved: Dennis Peppers

Girls Most Improved: Sha’uri Esquivel

Boys Rookie of Year: Jafet Sotelo

Girls Rookie of Year: Lexi Hall

Boys Team First: Reed Renfro

Girls Team First: Kaydee Cowling


Boys Cross Country

Runner of Year: Hector Hernandez

Most Improved: Anthony Sanchez

Rookie of Year: Johnny Sanchez

Team First: Hector Hernandez

All State: Hector Hernandez, Asael Sanchez, Johnny Sanchez, Alejandro Lerma

All Conference: Hector Hernandez, Anthony Sanchez, Alejandro Lerma, Asael Sanchez, Johnny Sanchez, Christopher Alonso, Miguel Diaz, Alexis Hernandez


Girls Cross Country

Runner of Year: Heidy Galvan

Most Improved: Sara Victoriano

Rookie of Year: Abigail Barker

Team First: Natalie Martinez

All State: Heidy Galvan, Abigail Barker

All Conference: Heidy Galvan, Jacklyn Sanchez, Kenya Martinez, Joselin Sanchez, Sara Victoriano, Pamela Delgado, Xochitl Florez, Marlen Perez, Natalie Martinez, Catherine Ousse, Abigail Barker.

Recommended for you

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.